Todd Owens ’13 Criminal Justice

Sales Service Representative -Mondelez Global (Nabisco Division)

When I came to Longwood University as a freshman my major was  Business with a concentration in Computer Information Management Systems. I found out that was not for me which made me step back and think about what I really wanted to do. I explored all my options and all of  majors that Longwood had to offer, along with the individual I am and decided on  Criminal Justice. I knew I was very passionate about helping people and interested in the Criminal Justice field. I just had to figure out what I wanted to do in the field, and throughout all my crim classes, there were more and more jobs that were interesting. While I was still at Longwood University in my junior year, second semester I was going through the application process with TSA as a Transportation Security Officer(TSO) at Dulles International Airport; hoping to make it count as my internship. I made it to the final stages but was unable to complete the process within the time limit they set due to being a full time student. After getting kicked out of the process I reached out to the Fauquier County Sheriffs Office to see if they had any internship opportunities. It turns out they did and I was able to spend time with the various divisions within the Sheriffs Office. I learned a lot of information and got to see some cool stuff.

Since graduating from Longwood University in May 2013 landing a job in the Criminal Justice field has been very difficult. I applied to Henrico County Police Department and began the application process with them. I made it all the way to the third to last step before the selections but was not selected to move on. I also was in the application process for Stafford County Sheriffs Office, but was put on a waiting list due to the fact that they were only sponsoring 4 individuals in the Regional Academy. Then I applied to a different kind of Criminal Justice position with a Retail Management Company named Forest City Enterprises as a Assistant Security Director at Short Pump Mall in Richmond, VA. Again, I made it all the way to the end of the process and was neck and neck with another candidate and did not get selected. Since then I have still been looking for position in the Criminal Justice field that seems appealing to me. I have also been looking at retail management positions because of all the experience I have in retail. I have been working for Mondelez Global (Nabisco Division) for almost 4 years (throughout my time at Longwood University as a part-time employee). Currently I am a Sales Service Representative for them, and am looking for a promotion or other opportunities in which I can either apply my knowledge I learned from Longwood University and the amazing Criminology Department or the retail experience I have gained through high school and college.

Thank you to all the professors in the Sociology and Criminology Department.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment